top of page
Year of Mary 2018 logo
Year of Mary 2018

Servite Rosary

February 23, March 9, March 23

Following the 4:30pm Stations of the Cross

in the Main Church

The Servite Rosary, is the Rosary of the Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary.  

The Rosary of the Seven Sorrows, also known as the Chaplet of Seven Sorrows or the Servite Rosary, is a Rosary based prayer that originated with the Servite Order.  It is often said in connection with the Seven Sorrows of Mary.

The Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary

I. The prophecy of Simeon

II. The Flight to Egypt

III. Loss of Child Jesus for 3 days, later found in His Father's House

IV. Witnessing Jesus carry his Cross

V. The Crucifixion of Jesus

VI. Taking Jesus Down from the Cross

VII. The Burial of Jesus


The Servite Rosary consists of a ring of seven groups of seven beads separated by a small medal depicting one of the sorrows of Mary, or a single bead. A further series of three beads and a medal are also attached to the chain (before the first "sorrow") and these are dedicated to prayer in honour of Mary's Tears, as well as to indicate the beginning of the chaplet. Conventionally the beads are of black wood or some other black material indicating sorrow. It has also been called the Seven Swords Rosary referring to the prophecy of Simeon:  "Behold this child is set for the fall, and for the resurrection of many in Israel, and for a sign which shall be contradicted; and thy own soul a sword shall pierce, that, out of many hearts, thoughts may be revealed." - (Lk.2:34-35)


It received approval through the grant of indulgences by Pope Benedict XII, Pope Clement XII, and Pope Clement XIII.  To learn how to say the Service Rosary click here.

Servite Rosary
bottom of page