top of page
Stations of the Cross b.png

About Stations of the Cross

The Stations of the Cross are a 14-step Catholic devotion that commemorates Jesus Christ's last day on Earth as a man. The 14 devotions, or stations, focus on specific events of His last day, beginning with His condemnation. The stations are commonly used as a mini pilgrimage as the individual moves from station to station. At each station, the individual recalls and meditates on a specific event from Christ's last day. Specific prayers are recited, then the individual moves to the next station until all 14 are complete.

The Stations of the Cross began as the practice of pious pilgrims to Jerusalem who would retrace the final journey of Jesus Christ to Calvary. Later, for the many who wanted to pass along the same route, but could not make the trip to Jerusalem, a practice developed that eventually took the form of the fourteen stations currently found in almost every church. 


The Stations of the Cross are commonly found in churches as a series of 14 small icons or images. They can also appear in church yards arranged along paths. The stations are most commonly prayed during Lent on Wednesdays and Fridays, and especially on Good Friday, the day of the year upon which the events actually occurred.

The Stations of the Cross

First Station: Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane


Second Station: Jesus, Betrayed by Judas, is Arrested


Third Station: Jesus is Condemned by the Sanhedrin


Fourth Station: Jesus is Denied by Peter


Fifth Station: Jesus is Judged by Pilate


Sixth Station: Jesus is Scourged and Crowned with Thorns


Seventh Station: Jesus Bears the Cross


Eighth Station: Jesus is Helped by Simon the Cyrenian to Carry the Cross


Ninth Station: Jesus Meets the Women of Jerusalem


Tenth Station: Jesus is Crucified


Eleventh Station: Jesus Promises His Kingdom to the Good Thief


Twelfth Station: Jesus Speaks to His Mother and the Disciple


Thirteenth Station: Jesus Dies on the Cross


Fourteenth Station: Jesus is Placed in the Tomb

Explore more about this wonderful service by watching a video produced by Catholic Online about the Stations of the Cross.

bottom of page